Kentucky Driving and Cell Phone Laws
|Kentucky House Bill 415 has been signed into law on April 25th, 2010.
Under the new driving law, drivers under the age of 18 will be prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Specifically:
"Any person under the age of eighteen (18) who has been issued an instruction permit, intermediate license, or operator's license shall not operate a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or moped that is in motion on the traveled portion of a roadway while using a personal communication device, except to summon medical help or a law enforcement or public safety agency in an emergency situation."
Text Messaging while operating a motor vehicle will be prohibited for all drivers. Specifically:
"No person shall, while operating a motor vehicle that is in motion on the traveled portion of a roadway, write, send, or read text-based communication using a personal communication device to manually communicate with any person using text-based communication, including but not limited to communications referred to as a text message, instant message, or electronic mail."
The Fine for a first offense will be $25 and subsequent offenses will cost $50 plus court costs.
There will be warnings issued until January 1st, 2011.
There are exceptions for emergency situations in the case of cell phone use for drivers under the age of 18 and text messaging.
To read the new law for yourself, please go to House Bill 415.